ShowPage
Creating tables

Creating a table is a two-step process: first, a table is created with a specified name and access and API settings are defined. Second, the table fields are defined.

To create a new table, you need to be logged in as a user with administrative privileges. Click on the tables link in the menu and then click the new table button. Enter a name for the table when prompted. You will then be taken to the page for the settings for your new table.

table settings

At the top of the table settings page is listed the fields. You can edit or delete a field here or press the "Add field" button to add a new field. Fields are covered in the next section.

The next section, titled "Table data", has options to manipulate the data in the table. First, it shows how many rows there are in the table. Next to that, there is an option to edit the data directly. Although we recommend that you build views (see later) to manipulate and interact with your data, the edit option here gives you a shortcut to quickly look at and change your data. If the table is version, this is also where you see previous versions of the rows. The next two options, download and upload CSV allow you to export or import data from a spreadsheet into your database.

The table data is followed by a list of views of this table. You can use this section to directly see or create new views of this table, instead of going through the general "Views" menu which shows you the views from all tables.

Beneath the table views, on the table settings page, is a window where you can edit the table properties. This is where you can enable API access to the table. API access allows programmers and tools to access the data in your table without directly using your application user interface. You can also change the minimum roles required to read and to write to the table. Note: Write API is not yet implemented. Role access is not yet consistently enforced.

In addition, the table settings allow you to enable or disable version history for this table. If this is enabled, then all edits to table rows will be saved with a history so you can undo changes. This is very useful for allowing users to generate and edit content on your site, so that you can quickly revert any changes made by users that you do not want to keep, for instance spam. To enable version history, tick the version history tick box and then press save. When you then go into the edit option under table data, for each row you will see the number of versions stored in the history. You can click this to see which user made the changes and when, and revert to previous versions if desired.